Sapporo ski jump

Sapporo ski jump

i been ask to paint this from a little low res mobile image, the area is North Japan in Sapporo where they hold the ski jump and Olympic games in 1972.

I had a think before hand as the image was only 300 kbps at 72 DPI. I could bring it up on the computer screen and make it bigger and work from there was my first thought.

But instead I went for a print and chalk method.

First I brought the image into a photoshop and produced a more album cover type look and when i was happy. I printed the A2 off in 4 sections as the printer i have is only A4.

Later I joined the A4’s together with tape and them stuck them to the A2 plywood (marine ply is better) but i used some wood I found in a skip.

First i painted the wood matt black a few times and filled in any holes to make the surface as smooth as you can get.

Once dry I rubbed chalk onto the paper and then laid it down on the board with the tape holding it in place and penciled over the main areas and then i had a white chalk line to follow.

After this I simply added more details and removed the printed paper, but did mark the area on paper and board should I ever need to re apply the paper in place.

IMG_7319

Here is what it looks like looking down the steps, its massive steps and climb to the area the ski down at silly speeds and jump.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/rob_chisholm/5408407850/in/set-72157622537929963

Leave a Reply

